Puerto Jiménez 2008-2009


Last December 29th Ivan and I went down to Puerto Jiménez....We were going to write on the blogg together, but everytime we were going to do it, we just finished doing something else. So I gave up and I promised Helen that tonight I was going to tell you how it was for me to went back to our first host community in the exchange. An this is how it was:

We went early in the morning to take the bus down to Golfito. Yeah, we didn't take the 10 hours bus down to Jiménez, so we would have at least half day more to enjoy and walk around in that small and lovely place. The bus left at 7:00 am from San José, around 12:30 pm we stopped by "Flor de la Sabana" the place where we stopped by with the group to have lunch the first time we were going down, that was the first moment when I started to think about all of you, and I started to miss you a lot...

When we got to Golfito we took a boat to PJ, I had Puerto Jiménez Beach in front of me and then I wondered who was going to be the first person we were going to meet again. I felt so nervous, don't know why, but maybe it was because we (the whole group) were not there, and of course it was not going to be the same.

Finally we were there, so....Ok, we didn't know what to do, we just started walking and decided to go first to visit Doña Ercilia! so she was the choosen one!!! :)

Met here was weird, of course my horses!!! But it was also really nice...Then I felt better, the next ones were my family at El Mini Tigre (but they were not there) Ivan's familiy (but they were not there either) and Frida's familiy. OH YES! they were there....I was so happy to see Michelle again!!! and I think she was too he he...

Then we just had a walk around the Boulevar. Now they are building something, like a small place next to the beach to go down and sit there having a "Tropical de Mora" they are also paving the road with cobbles and it looks really nice, but it also looks like "development" it's getting in to Jimenez and of course it makes me worry about that.

Next day was a "lazy day'2, we just walked around and visited Susana who is working at Juanita's and spent some time with Angelica going to the crocodile place in Parrot Bay, then we met Diego! just for a few minutes...

Wednesday was New Years Eve, so we went to Evaristo's house, they where really nice on inviting us to have dinner with them...

At that time I was missing the group a lot, everything reminded me the group, just walking around, going to Super BM, passing by Banco Nacional, listening to the Lapas, looking the Lapa Rios cars going around with their fancy guests, meeting some people and it felt like we (the whole group) were going to be there again, but it was not going to happen.

Thursday we went to Playa Preciosa, and spent the whole day there, we were just talking and eating coconut and went back walking to PJ in the evening (ok! we took a ride in half of the way, it was kind of late when we were walking back but it was beautiful)

Next day we went to take the Colectivo to Matapalo, and suprise!!!! now the changed the colectivo cars for just one "Big Colectivo" which is "demasiado chiva!!!" So we went to Matapalo and spent the day there, we stayed there in a small and nice hotel, and went back on saturday afternoon to PJ after a fresh bath in one of the Matapalo's Waterfalls, just to rest a little bit and meet Fofo and Andrey....we spent that night with them at Juanitas, we also went to La Taberna, but it was so dead that we went back to Juanitas :)

On Sunday I came back in the Jimenez bus at 5 am , but I couldn't find tickets to go sit, so the first 5 hours in the bus I was standing up...Finally I got to San José and went back home. Ivan, Andrey and Fofo stayed in PJ untill Wednesday, but I can't tell you what hapened cause I wasn't there :P

Between the curiosities I saw:

The recycle centers: they were completely useless :( Broken or just thrown like trash...

Café De La Onda: it doesn't exist anymore... :(

The Basket Ball Field: the rings were still there!!! :) But now I think they are using it as a mini-football field :(

Mango Real: it's still there, but they stopped using the pool. there is not enough people going to afford the maintenance
of the swimming pool :(

The Main street: it's paved!!! :) so now it's not so dusty in the morning...

Show Man: He is not there anymore...!?!? Hmmmm

The Beach: they cut down some trees, and now ther are more "mesitas" to go and sit there, they also opened a restaurant in front of the beach where they rent surf boards!!! (Ok, in Jimenez????)

The airport: is paved too!!! and looks nicer... :)

The playground: it looks like abandoned :( I reckon no one is using it


Things had changed...But the biggest change I felt was you. It was not the same to be there again, but it also felt like I was back in time, I wished we could be there again and enjoyed one of the best times in my life....

I still miss you a lot!!! And I hope someday I will see you all again....
LOTS OF LOVE!!!

P.D: the pics will come later!!! :) sorry, but Ivan haven't taken them from the cam....Puss!!!


Kommentarer
Postat av: anna

ahhhh! how nice to get some updates from pj even though some of them was quite bad. it must have been amazing to return there but in the same time strange as you write. in my dreams and imagination i'm walking there too at the (before) dusty mainstreet while the children is calling me galleta!? i'm getting so nostalgic while i'm writing this! love you everybody! puss and pura vida

2009-01-14 @ 12:48:12
Postat av: frida

I am so happy that you finally wrote about how it was to return. I understand that it was strange to return after so long time and without the group but also so fun. I am really envious that you spent some days with my family! Next time I am going back together with you!



(now i am just waiting for the pictures...)

puss puss o kram

2009-01-14 @ 16:31:02
Postat av: Helene

Thanks guys!! I loved reading this and watching the photos.. I miss you all soooo much! I love you! Besos para todos!!!!

2009-01-19 @ 09:39:55
Postat av: Marce

Hmmm...the main street was next to the Centro Comunal, the really dusty one.

:)

2009-01-20 @ 17:15:48

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0